Thursday, May 4, 2023, 4:15 – 6:15 pm in Waterman 427A

Present: Professors Kervick (CESS), Everse (LCOM), Barnaby (CAS), Borchert (Faculty

Senate President), Brooks (RSENR), Doherty (LIB), Emery (CAS), Harrington (CAS), Hazelrigg (CALS), Hibbeler (CEMS), Lau (LCOM), Mayo (CESS), Noordewier (GSB),

Rosebush (CEMS), Sargent (CNHS), Seidl (RSENR), Swogger (LIB),

Absent: Professor Dale (CNHS), Hunt (LCOM), Jones (GSB), Blom (CAS), SGA Rep Lista,

Vacant (CALS), Vacant (LCOM)

Guests: Jennifer Dickinson, Cynthia Forehand

Chair Everse called the meeting to order at 4:21 PM

related to global health. The curriculum for the concentration in Global Heath Leadership meets those competencies." She further noted that the addition of this concentration is supported by the Graduate Executive Committee, the

Tom Borchert announced the creation of an Artificial Intelligence (AI) ad hoc working group. The goal of which is to provide faculty (through the Faculty Senate) with guidance for addressing AI matters in teaching and research. Initially, once established, this working group will meet once before the end of the contract year, once during the summer, and three or four times as needed during the Fall 2023 semester. The Senate will pay for summer meetings for faculty who are nine-month employees. The goal is to present guidance to the Senate by December 2023. The working group will be comprised of: Susanmarie Harrington, the Director of WID, Deanna Garret-Ostermiller, Assistant Director Center for Student Conduct, four members of the Faculty Senate, including the President or the Vice-President of the Senate, and one representative from the ERTC, SAC, and the CAC. Elizabeth Sargent (CNHS) volunteered to serve on the AI ad hoc working group to represent the CAC.

- Ann Hazelrigg volunteered to review the proposals for 8 micro-Certificates of Graduate Study in Public Health
- Jason Hibbeler and Colby Kervick volunteered to serve on the APR for Speech Pathology
- Stephen Everse and Susan Swogger volunteered to serve on the APR for Counseling
- Volunteers are still needed to serve on the APR for Medical Education

Colby Kervick and Stephen Everse thanked the committee for their work and recognized several members ending their term of service on the CAC, including Ann Hazelrigg (CALS), Andrew Barnaby (CAS), Rosemary Dale (CNHS), Elizabeth Sargent (CNHS), Thomas Noordewier (GSB), Elizabeth Hunt (LCOM), and Chris Brooks (RSENR). Special appreciation was expressed for the years of contribution and the impact made by Cynthia Forehand. Cindy has served the CAC since 2002. We wish her well in her retirement.

The meeting adjourned at 5:33 PM.