Constitution and Bylaws

of

The Faculty of the College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences of The University of Vermont

As Approved on November 18, 2008, and Amended on October 7, 2014, November 29, 2016, February 16, 2021, and March 15, 2022.

I. Organization

A. The Academic Units

- official record of all actions taken by the Faculty.
- 2. The Secretary shall be elected from the Regular Faculty for a term of one year.
- 3. In the absence of the Secretary, the Faculty will elect someone to serve in their stead. If no faculty member agrees to serve, the Dean shall appoint a faculty member to serve.
- 4. The Secretary shall be responsible for certifying written or electronic ballot votes as specified in Section IV.8, and for certifying votes to elect College Officers.

C. The Parliamentarian

- 1. The Parliamentarian shall advise the presiding officer and the Faculty on questions of parliamentary procedure or the execution of these Bylaws.
- 2. The Parliamentarian shall be elected from the Regular Faculty for a term of three years.
- 3. In the absence of the Parliamentarian, the Faculty will elect someone to serve in their stead. If no faculty member agrees to serve, the Dean shall appoint a faculty member to serve.

IV. College Faculty Meetings

- 1. The Faculty of the College shall meet at least two times during each semester.
- 2. Prior to the beginning of each semester, the Dean shall schedule the meeting dates and times and so notify the Faculty by an announcement e-mailed to each Regular Faculty member.
- 3. Except as provided for in subsection 6 below with regard to special meetings, the Dean shall furnish to the Faculty an electronic notice, an agenda, and the minutes of the previous meeting at least seven calendar days prior to the next meeting.
- 4. Any item presented by a member of the Faculty in writing or electronically to the Dean's Office at least two weeks prior to a scheduled meeting shall be placed on the agenda of that meeting.
- 5. A quorum at regular meetings shall consist of thirty percent (30%) of the Regular Faculty.

elected.

- 5. Standing Committees shall report to the Faculty at least once each year.
- 6. A committee membership list will be updated annually by the Dean and will be distributed to Faculty at the beginning of the academic year.
- 7. Each College Standing Committee shall elect a Chair and a Secretary at its first meeting of the academic year.
- 8. After consultation with the Faculty Council, the Dean may establish and specify the membership of ad hoc College committees to address determinate issues not under the explicit purview of a Standing Committee.
- 9. Only Represented Faculty may serve as Chair of a Standing Committee.

B. The Area Curriculum Committees

- 1. There shall be an Area Curriculum Committee for each Curricular Area defined in Section I. Each Area Curriculum Committee shall develop and maintain the courses and curriculum in its Curricular Area as well as those in support of the other academic units.
- 2. For each of the Area Curriculum Committees, the voting membership shall consist of all Regular Faculty members with teaching and/or advising responsibilities in the designated area. A Department Chair who is not already a member of an Area Curriculum Committee under the purview of their Academic Unit is an *ex officio* member, without privilege of vote, of that Area Curriculum Committee. In addition, any faculty member of the University may also be appointed by the Dean of the College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences to one or more Curricular Areas, with the advice and consent of the Regular Faculty within the affected Curricular Area; such members shall have the privilege of vote in each Area Curriculum Committee to which they have been appointed.

C. The College Curriculum Committee

1. The College Curriculum Committee shall act upon curricular issues submitted to it by the Area Curriculum Committees. The College Curriculum Committee is also empowered to develop and coordinate curricular initiatives that are not under the purview of a

Graduate College (where relevant), the Faculty Senate Curricular

Approved by College Faculty on November 18, 2008.

Amended by College Faculty on October 7, 2014:

- 1. Decommission IT and Honors & Awards committees
- 2. Align composition of Faculty Council with other committees (3 SoE, 1 CS, 2 Math/Stat)
- 3. Provide for electronic nominations and elections

Amended by College Faculty on November 29, 2016:

- 1. I. A. Changes to Academic Units.
- 2. II.B. Rewording for clarity.
- 3. III. B. 4. Allows electronic ballot; deletion of at large members of Faculty Council per 2014 bylaw changes.
- 4. IV. 2. Electronic notice
- 5. IV. 8. Allows electronic voting.
- 6. V.A.2. Amendment to membership of certain College Standing Committees.
- 7. V.A.8. Dean can establish ad hoc College committees after consultation with Faculty Council.
- 8. V.D. reversion to earlier curriculum approval process pre 2009 bylaw changes.
- 9. V.E
- 10. V.G
- 11. VI.1. Allows electronic ballots.

Amended by College Faculty on February 16, 2021:

- 1. Change binary pronouns ("he or she", "his or hers", and "him or her") to plural ("they", "their", and "them") throughout. *
- 2. II.C. Add definition of Represented Faculty.
- 3. V.A.2. Update list of Sections. *
- 4. V.A.9. Add restriction on Chair of College Committees to Represented Faculty.
- 5. V.C.2. Add specification on number of Department Chairpersons and remove redundant clause with the addition of V.A.9. *
- 6. V.C.3. Add College Curricular Committee meeting attendance by interdisciplinary programs heads. *
- 7. V.E.3. Update language to reflect only Represented Faculty on Standards Committee.
- 8. V.F.4. Add restriction on Studies Committee membership to Represented Faculty.
- 9. V.G.5. Add restriction on Faculty Council membership to Represented Faculty. *

^{*} All or part of these amendments were discussed in the CEMS meeting on March 17, 2020, and included